

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA SURATHKAL

MINUTES

OF

41st SENATE MEETING

Date : 27.10.2016 (Thursday)

Time : 4.00 p.m. onwards

Venue : Lecture Hall Complex -A N.I.T.K., Surathkal MANGALURU PIN - 575 025. National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA, SURATHKAL MANGALORE – 575 025

Proceedings of the 41st meeting of the Senate of N.I.T.K. Surathkal held on 27.10.2016 at 4.00 p.m in the Lecture Hall Complex -A of N.I.T.K. Surathkal.

.....

MEMBERS PRESENT:

K.N.Lokesh			Chairman
N.C. Shivapr	akash		Member
A. Chitharan	jan Hegde		Member
A. Kandaswa	amy		Member
A. Nityanand	a Shetty		Member
A.H. Sequeir	a		Member
A.O. Surendi	ranathan		Member
A.U. Ravi Sh	ankar		Member
A.V. Adhikar	i		Member
Ananthanara	iyana V.S.		Member
B. Raj Mohar	ı		Member
B. Ramachar	ndra Bhat		Member
Ch. S.N. Mur	thy		Member
D. Krishna B	hat		Member
D. Venkat Re	eddy		Member
Dwarakish G	.S.		Member
G. Ram Moh	ana Reddy		Member
G. Sriniketha	an		Member
Gangadhara	n K.V.		Member
H.D. Shashil	cala		Member
Jagannath N	ayak		Member
K. B. Kiran			Member
К. К. Арри К	uttan		Member
K. Narayan F	rabhu		Member
K. Panduran	ga Vittal		Member
K. Swaminat	han		Member
K.S. Babu Na	arayan		Member
Katta Venkat	aramana		Member
st Comata Maati	na data d 27 10	2016	16

41st Senate Meeting dated 27.10.2016

Minutes

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

M. Govinda Raj	 Member
M.B. Saidutta	 Member
M.K. Nagaraj	 Member
M.N. Satyanarayan	 Member
M.S. Bhat	 Member
Muralidhar Kulkarni	 Member
Murulidhar N.N	 Member
Narendranath S	 Member
Prasad Krishna	 Member
R. Shivashankar	 Member
S. Sumam David	 Member
S.M. Hegde	 Member
S.M. Kulkarni	 Member
Santosh George	 Member
Sitaram Nayak	 Member
Subba Rao	 Member
Subhas C.Yaragal	 Member
T.P. Ashok Babu	 Member
Udaya Bhat K	 Member
Vani M	 Member
Vijay H Desai	 Member
Vinatha U	 Member
Anusuya Chakari	 Member
Mahima R	 Special Invitee
K. Ravindranath	 Secretary

Preamble:

At the outset of the meeting Chairman welcomed all the members to the 41st Senate Meeting. The external senate member Dr. N.C. Shivaprakash was also welcomed. The Chairman placed on record the services rendered by the former external Senate members.

After a brief discussion, with the permission of Chair, the Secretary Senate, began the deliberations on the Agenda Items.

41st Senate Meeting dated 27.10.2016

Minutes

leur

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

Item No. 41.1:CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF THE 40th MEETING
OF THE SENATE HELD ON JULY 15, 2016.

The Senate resolved to confirm the minutes of the 40th Senate Meeting.

Item No. 41.2: <u>REVIEW OF ACTION TAKEN ON THE MINUTES OF 40th</u> SENATE MEETING HELD ON JULY 15, 2016.

The actions taken on the minutes of the 40th Senate meeting were noted.

Item No. 41.3: <u>ITEMS PLACED BEFORE THE 41st SENATE MEETING</u> HELD ON OCTOBER 27, 2016.

Discussion and Decision Items:

Item No. 41.3.1:Admission of students made under UG, PG and
PhD programme for the academic year 2016-17.

The Senate resolved to approve the admission statistics of students made under Undergraduate, Postgraduate and PhD programmes for the academic year 2016-17.

Item No.41.3.2:

Convocation – List of graduands - Approval of eligible candidates for the award of B.Tech / M. Tech / M.Tech (Research) / M.C.A. /M.B.A / M.Sc / PhD degree during the 14th Annual convocation.

The Senate resolved to approve the list of eligible candidates for the award of B Tech / M Tech / M Tech (Research) / M.C.A. /M.B.A / M Sc / PhD degree during the 14th convocation. The Chairman Senate was authorized to approve the additional list of eligible candidates for the award of M.Tech (Research) and PhD Degree during the 14th Convocation.

It was further resolved that the matter shall be placed for approval of BOG.

Item No.41.3.3:

Request to condone the delay in Submission of Research Proposal

The Senate resolved to condone in delay of submission of Research Proposal of the PhD Research Scholars Ms Kanaka Muthu (ME14P03) and Ms Fathima Afroz (CS14F02).

41st Senate Meeting dated 27.10.2016

Minutes

Denes

Item No. 41.3.4: Request for extension of PhD Registration beyond 7 years.

The Senate resolved to condone the delay of submission of Thesis of the PhD Research Scholars Mr. Sripad Ramchandra Nayak (MN09P02) and permitted extension subject to re-registration of PhD programme beyond 7 years of completion.

Item No. 41.3.5: Request to condone the delay in Submission of **Progress Report and extension of Registration**

The Senate resolved to condone the delay in Submission of Progress Report of the PhD Research Scholars Mr. Biju R Mohan (IT09P03), Ms Saumya Hegde (CO09P02) and Ms Nayana N Patil (08CVP01) and considered for extension subject to re-registration of PhD programme beyond 7 years of completion.

Item No.41.3.6:

Mid Semester Exams to be held in the same week after 8 weeks of the semester

The Senate opined that Mid Semester Exams needs to be followed as per approved academic calendar.

Item No.41.3.7: Academic calendar for the academic year 2016-17 (Even Semester) and the academic year 2017-18 (Odd Semester)

The Senate resolved to approve the Academic Calendar for the Even Semester (January-May 2017) and Odd Semester (July – December 2017)

Item No.41.3.8:

Termination from the B Tech and M Tech Programme - Students failed to earn Minimum Credits requirements at the end of the specified year.

The Senate resolved to approve the termination of students of B Tech students Mr. Mankamuthaka Ravi Teja (15CO228), Ms. Preeti M Kannapan (15ME250), Mr. Rakesh Kumar (15MT31), Mr. Akhil Chowdry Chilukuri (14IT202) and students of M Tech Programme Mr. Ritesh Pandey (15CS17F), Mr. Prakash Kumar (15VL18F) and Mr. Angad Singh Oberoi (15CE05F) as they failed to earn minimum credit requirements at the end of the year.

41st Senate Meeting dated 27.10.2016 Minutes

hand

Item No.41.3.9:Nomination of one faculty from Senate to the
BOG as per NITSER Act 2007.

The Senate noted the subject and authorised the Secretary, Senate to conduct election for nominating one faculty from Senate to the BOG as per NITSER Act 2007. The schedule for nomination are as follows:

1.	Date of notification	28.10.2016 (Friday)	
2.	Last date for filing nominations	07.11.2016 (up to 5 pm)	
3.	Last date for withdrawing nominations	08.11.2016 (up to 5 pm)	
4.	Announcement of final list of candidates	08.11.2016 (5.30 pm)	
5.	Voting (if any) commences on	09.11.2016 (Wednesday)	
		from 4.00 pm to 5.30 pm	
6.	Results are announced on	09.11.2016 (Wednesday	
		6.30PM)	

Table agenda items

Item No. 41.3.10:

Induction of Students Council Member into Academic Senate - Proposal of Students' Council of the Institute

The Senate resolved to induct two (one from UG and one from PG) of Students Council members into Academic Senate as invitee members.

Item No. 41.3.11:

Degree Certificate with Research Specializations – request of PhD Scholar Mr. Gebremedhin Hailu and Mr. Arega Mulu Adal of Dept. of Applied Mechanics and Hydraulics

The Senate resolved to not to modify the Degree Certificate format. However, on request of PhD Graduands additional information such as research specialization can be issued with signatories of Dean (Academic) and Director.

Meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(K. Ravindranath) Secretary-Senate, NITK

41st Senate Meeting dated 27.10.2016

Lokesh)

Chairman-Senate, NITK

Minutes